h1

Happy Birthday to Me!!

December 4, 2012

Today is my 40th Birthday.

It is also the day that I came home from the Virgin Islands for the last time.  Trial is over.  I’m done.  (Well, I may need to call into a mediation on Friday, and I may need to write One More Brief, but I don’t have to go back.)

Despite the fact that I had a trial yesterday, David and I proceeded with our plans to throw a Birthday Bash this past weekend.  Saturday night.

It was amazing.

I invited 60 people, and 40 came.  No kids.  There was dancing, there was food.  Friends and family came from as far away as California, and as close as D.C. (8 hour drive!!) and Connecticut (mom and dad!!).  We worked hard to make it a good night for everyone, and I really think we succeeded.  We rented a space because our home isn’t big enough/laid out right for such a crowd, and I think we managed to make it a great place.

___________________

I woke up today on my 40th birthday, alone, in a hotel in the Virgin Islands.  It wasn’t depressing.  It felt good because the massive stress I’ve been dealing with lately is behind me, and I was able to just – reflect.

And upon reflection, I decided:  I am 40 years old, and I feel like I’ve accomplished a lot.  I have an amazing family; the family I came from, and the family I created, both.  I have friends all over the country, and even the world, that I can count on.  I have a job and a career that I like.  My colleagues  –  both those I work with, and those I work AGAINST – respect me and enjoy spending time with me. I like myself.

Seriously.  I’m 40, and I like myself, and I like my life.

What else could I possibly ask for?

 

[well, money.  i could ask for money.  but today, I'm 40, and I'm grateful.]

7 comments

  1. awesome awesome!! happy 40th :-)


  2. Happy Birthday to you! Liking one’s life is an amazing feeling :) Glad the trial stress is over with.


  3. Happy (late) Birthday! Sounds like it was great.


  4. Happy belated birthday! It sounded like a good time and it sounds like you’re in an amazing place, so I am so happy for you!


  5. I. LOVE. THIS.

    You had an amazing party and you’ve accomplished some great things at work in recent months AND you’re happy with yourself.

    LOVE.

    I personally found 40 to be liberating and I’ve embraced the hell out of life ever since. I am so happy that you’re just as happy and content too.


  6. Happy birthday! What a wonderful celebration. And you SHOULD be proud — you’ve done so much!


  7. [...] Happy birthday to SuzieJD! [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

