h1

Between Trials, Thinking About the End.

September 3, 2013

2013 has been a very, very busy work year.  Since I left my BigLaw firm, I’ve taken a 50% pay cut, and have had an INCREASE in my work hours.  There is no doubt that the work I do is more satisfying, and that my firm is a better fit, and the people I work with are really awesome, but I could use to have the hours lessen up a bit.  I’m on track for a 2400 hour year, and it’s, honestly, poops.  It means that I’ve had great experiences, and have grown as an attorney, but since I’m still years away from any kind of “promotion” (i.e., partnership), the pace of this growth could slow down, and I’d be in good shape.

On the home front, the girls are STILL not back in school.  The Jewish holidays fall in such a way that we couldn’t start this week, so the school district starts on Monday the 9th, but my girls (10th and 12th graders now) start on Tuesday the 10th.  (The Freshmen get the high school to themselves on the first day of school …).

Tomorrow at 10:15, my Emma is getting a “pixie cut.”  She is looking for something like the other Emma.  (Well, one of the other Emmas.)  Currently, my Emma’s hair is almost to her butt.  This is going to be a huge change, and I have to say, I’m a little anxious that she’s going to hate it, and there’s going to be nothing we can do about it until it grows out. But you know, it’s her head.

It’s also not a small thing to me that she’s filling out college applications right now.  A year from now, she won’t be living in my house.  And she (likely) never will be again, other than school breaks.  I am capable of being very sad about this.  Very sad.

In the meantime, Juliette is being a total homebody.  She likes to be at home, to sleep at home, and to eat at home.  She’s watching her sister’s process, and is already starting to freak out about her own.  So maybe to make up for Emma leaving, J will never leave.

This year is going to fly by.  I’m going to be juggling college visits, college interviews and college applications with volunteer duties, school performances, regattas, and trials and arbitrations.  I want to be sure that I figure out how to enjoy it, at the same time, as it’s going to be tough to turn around and find that it’s August of 2014, and my baby-girl is packing her boxes.

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. I can’t believe it’s E’s senior year already. My older girl just started freshman year and I know the next few years are going to fly by.


  2. I’ve got 4 years more years with my oldest and I think about it constantly. I know that last year will pass in a blink.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

