h1

Fun & Finances

April 28, 2010

Last week was April vacation for public schools here in this part of the East Coast.   My girls spent it with the Ex, in far-ish-away state.   They left on a Sunday, and came back the next Monday, missing a day of school.   S~ was a little upset about missing school – oh, the work she will owe! The effort that will be required to get back on track! – While L~ was thrilled to have an extra day off.

Writer-Dude (WD) and I picked them up from Logan Airport in Boston at 11 a.m. on Monday, and decided it would be a good time to initiate them to the joy that is Wagamama, located in Quincy Market.

We’ve been to Quincy Market quite a few times, but we usually take public transportation in, and don’t have to fuss with parking.  So we felt like complete tourists, rounding the blocks, confused by one-way signs and street after street of  no parking.  Eventually, we decided to spend more on parking than on lunch, and threw the car into a garage.

Wagamama was great – kids loved the food.  It was able to satisfy S~’s love of rice, and L~’s vegetarianism, as well as mine and WD’s  search for low-calorie satisfaction.  Perfect.

Not so perfect?  It was across the street from an Urban Outfitters.

I didn’t realize that wasn’t perfect at first.  It sort of snuck up on me.  I know that the kids these days find Urban Outfitters to be “cool,” and I’ve ventured inside a few times, emerging with very successful gifts for the girls.  But when I go in by myself, I can scan the price tags and quickly move on when something appears to be completely unreasonable.  (Yes, really, in red.)

But this time, I brought S~ and L~ along with.  While L~ and WD wandered around making fun of some items and being goofy trying on others, S~ walked around saying “and that, and that, and that, and that ….”

[I had declared at the outset that we were there to “get ideas,” and “not to buy anything,” so she certainly was not demanding that I purchase the ridiculously huge list of items that she loved.]

It’s been 48 hours since our visit to the great UO, and only one item remains on her list.  Or at least, only one item has been discussed at least four times since the visit.

It’s a cute black (or deep navy) skirt with white polka dots.  (It would definitely be considered a “short” skirt, but I know that S~ plans to wear it with leggings underneath.)

And it’s $48.

I only recently came to terms with the fact that my kids now have adult sized feet – sizes 7.5, and 8.5.  Which means shoes cost a lot more.  I’m trying to convince myself that their feet are no longer growing, so the cost is less frustrating.  But I’m not sure that’s true.  Because while in Urban Outfitters, we did find some little sneaker/tennis-shoes that were on sale for a reasonable price (i.e., 2 pairs for $30), and L~ needed an 8.  S~ needed a 9.  But I think they were just cheap-ass shoes. [Keep telling yourself that, suz.]

And I’ve also come to terms with the fact that I can no longer run to the store and just pick up some tops on sale assuming the girls will wear them just because they’re in their drawer.  No.  Preferences have kicked in.  Choices are being made.  Malls are being visited.  And mom is getting headaches.

But I usually can find sales, and wait items for birthdays, and insist on some kind of contribution from allowance or other monies they somehow find themselves acquiring without me.

This was the first time we walked into a store and S~ [because she, in particular, has been much less concerned with clothing, fashion, or her appearance in general] pointed out hundreds upon hundreds of dollars of things that she liked and wanted.

No, I’m not spending hundreds and hundreds on her just because she “likes” it.  But I am coming to terms with how much the expenses go UP as the kids get older.  I used to be able to pick up t-shirts for $5, and sometimes less.  Now they want T-shirts that cost over $25.  Whaaaa???

These kids need jobs.

Leave a Reply

