h1

Overkill

May 18, 2010

As I’ve mentioned, I’m pursuing some weight loss goals.  I’m fully aware that in order to meet my goals, I need to exercise.  I’m okay with that – exercise is fun, especially if outdoors, and it gives me energy, and makes me feel strong.

Problem is the timing.  As a full time lawyer and a mom to two, I find it difficult to find the necessary corners of time.  After many a trial & error (the gym at the lunch hour, the gym prior to the lunch hour, the gym in the afternoon, exercise after work, etc.), I have found that the best time for me to exercise is first thing in the morning.

By first thing, I mean 5 or 5:30.

I know this is no big deal for some people.  Some people are early risers.  Some people like getting up before the rest of the house to have some quiet time, and don’t find it difficult to get up at 5 or 5:30.

I’d like to think that the reason why it’s hard for me to get up at 5 or 5:30 is because I’m never in bed before 11 or 12.  Whereas others go to bed at, like, 9.

So I struggle.  I try to get up at 5 or 5:30, but often, when I’m successful, it’s more like 6 before I roll out of bed.  Leaving the house for a run at 6 a.m. means I’m back home by 7 and in the shower and getting ready for work so that I can be in the office between 8:30 and 9 (if I have to … if I don’t have to, I linger a bit more, and get in for 9:30).   That works for me.

This morning, however, I had a meeting at the kids’ school at 7 a.m.  Which meant I had to be in the shower by 6 a.m., and if I was going to run, I had to be outside by 5 a.m.

Ouch.

While it would otherwise seem like a good reason to take a day “off,” I’d taken Monday off, and knew rain was coming in on Wednesday, which means Excuses!!  So I set the alarm.

While half asleep after the first alarm, and as per usual, I started to convince myself that the meeting was absolutely silly, and that my attendance would be futile and wrong.  So I should – of course – sleep an extra hour.  But then Writer-Dude rolled over and nudged me and said, “are you getting up?  for some reason the alarm is really bothering me this morning.”  (He usually sleeps through without difficulty.)

Being the considerate spouse that I am, I hopped out of bed and turned off the alarm so at least someone could ahve the additional two hours of sleep.

I put on my work out clothes, and checked my email, and finally, at 5:17, left the house for my run.

While running, I continued with the “this meeting is stupid.  i hate this discussion topic.  they don’t need me there.” Sprinkled with a little, “I don’t know what I’m going to wear today, and I hate rushing when I don’t know what I’m going to wear.”  And I had to give a little talk to some peoples at work today, so I didn’t know what I was going to wear, and it had to be a suit, and I was definitely going to have to iron, and I was going to have to pay a little extra attention to the hair & make up, for first impression, “face of the law firm” purposes.   Definitely not feeling the meeting.

When I got back to the house, it was 6:05, and I was a sweaty mess.  Resolved, I sat down to my computer to email another meeting participant to inform them of the fact that it was impossible that I would make it to the meeting.  The work!  The meetings!  The train being so unreliable!  No way!

Before I pushed “send,” I looked up the meeting announcement, in response to a small little whisper somewhere around the brain stem (“what if it was at 7 PM, instead of 7 AM?”)

Oh, it was 7 AM, alright.

7 AM on Wednesday morning.  Not Tuesday morning.

Fantastic.

So I took out my frustration with a Wii strength training workout.  Why not be productive, if not asleep?

Leave a Reply

