h1

Reset Button

July 8, 2010

Well, as much as my 2-week vacation from work has been delightful, it also wrecked any semblance of routines, and broke my resolve toward aggressive weight loss goals.

Actually, S~’s graduation week was the beginning of the end.

So the second half of June, and into the first week of July saw me blowing off my “Lose It!” app, and eating whatever I wanted.  Granted, I was still making wiser choices, and not eating dessert, etc.  I also was hoofing it  for hours at a time around several destinations and swimming against ocean currents.  But I logged nothing.

And lost nothing.

Fortunately – I also gained nothing.

Phew!

But now I’m home, and work resumes on Monday, and routines need to be reinstated.

Today is another disgustingly hot day here in the Boston area, so I didn’t go outside to run.  Instead, I stayed home and did my first day of Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred (where I learned about it).  I also did my first day of 100 Push Ups.  It felt great, too.  Even though Jillian may have left me feeling like I was going to barf.  That may have been more because of the fact that I had nothing to eat as of 2 p.m. other than a single cup of coffee.  (Not on purpose.)  Or because it was more ab work than I’ve done in a long time.  It definitely made the 35+ push ups that 100 Push Ups assigned to me feel easy!

Yeah, I’m probably in overkill mode (again) by doing 3 programs at once – 30 Day Shred, 100 Push Ups and I’m trying to the Couch to 5K!  But the Couch to 5K is only 3 days/week, and that’s really not enough for my goals.  I think it’s a good program, and will help me build up my endurance, but I don’t think it’s enough.  So, I’m doing all 3.

I am happy that I lost 20+ pounds since April.  It still serves to keep me from being completely discouraged.  But I had hoped to lose another 20 by this time – if not 30.  So, I need to re-focus.

Leave a Reply

