h1

Dizzy

July 26, 2010

My minor surgery continues to be relatively smooth.  I am not in pain, I have full range of motion.

But.

I’m very dizzy.

It sort of comes and goes, but when it comes, it’s pretty disorienting.  (is that the very definition of “dizzy”?)

Writer-Dude and I went out to run some errands on Saturday (2 days after the surgery), and I found myself reaching out for his arm to stabilize myself a few times.  I didn’t lift anything, carry anything, reach for anything — I just walked.  But I still felt wobbly.  So we went home.  And I fell asleep.  For 3.5 hours.

I woke up at 6:30ish, and we went to see Inception.  I felt fine – no problem getting to or sitting through the movie.  I was worried that after my 3 hour nap, I wouldn’t be able to sleep at night.  But that was not a concern.  I crashed, and slept soundly all night.

Then on Sunday, I woke up and felt okay.  Took it easy for most of the morning, and then we went to see another movie (since we realized that was about what I could tolerate) – we saw Salt.  I liked it.

Then we browsed in a couple of stores, and got in the car to drive to an Apple store to inquire about an iPhone.  For me.  A new one.

But in the Apple store, I was again dizzy.  WD wanted me to go grocery shopping with him, since we had that freedom with no kids at home, and us with no plans.  But I had to bail, on account of the spinning earth, and go home.

Now today I’m back at work.  WD drove me in, so I didn’t have to deal with public transit and the walk to/from the stations & work.  I felt dizzy again from the outset.

Yesterday I wondered if it was a lack of protein during healing-time, and so WD made me a steak.  I felt better most of the night, so perhaps it had been the right call.

The only medication I’m on is an antibiotic, with occasional Tylenol.  No pain meds, nothing else.  So either it’s the antibiotic (internet research says it’s possible), or it’s just … post-op weirdness.  even though I otherwise feel perfectly fine.

What a pain in the butt.

And work is busy!  I have things to do!  I need all my brain cells, thank you very much!!

Leave a Reply

