h1

Slight Moment of Panic

August 10, 2010

Just a brief note:

I’ve been noticing some back-to-school posts, especially from those I follow who live in the South.  Both in blogs and on Facebook.

We don’t start school until September 7th.  So I really do have plenty of time to deal with all of the “I wants” and “I needs” and the many things they really do need. (Shoes, for example.  Why their feet won’t stop growing, I have no idea.  Seriously, Lemon has size 10 flip-flops this summer.  Size TEN!  She’s 5’3″!  Why does she need such large feet?)

The PANIC doesn’t come from the procurement of stuff.  It comes from the realization that this year, it’s not just a “first day of school.”

It’s a first day of High School.  At least for Lemon.

Uh.  Wow.

And L~ is not all that much younger.  7th grade?  My baby is in 7th grade?  Actually, I can deal with that.  It’s just High School that’s freaking me out.  Momentarily.  For now.  Maybe again soon.

Leave a Reply

