h1

Teenage Angst

November 5, 2010

Is it over-reacting to respond to a 14 yo’s freak out/emotional blow up by looking for recommendations to a therapist for adolescents?

she didn’t just say “oh my gawd! why did you LOOK at me that way?  You are SOOOO annoying.”

She said “mommy, I think something may be wrong with me.  Why do little things upset me so much, when for other people, they’re just … little things?”

And if, really, it is just teenage angst, is it so wrong to find a professional to help her walk through it?  I mean, why should the angst be suffered with no guidance?

Today, I am kind of tired.  Because the teenage angst never visits our house until at least 10 p.m.  It also ignores the fact that I am in bed, with my eyes closed, and maybe with the sweet, regular breathing of sleep.

So … any thoughts?

2 comments

  1. Its not overreacting. If you find someone who is good with teens, who will help her feel like its normal without patronizing her, and you have the resources, I say do it.


  2. I think she was asking for help (from one formerly very troubled, depressed 14 year old who was lucky enough to have Prozac come on the market when it did) in a way that shows the two of you have a great relationship. If she could have handled it on her own, she wouldn’t have said it. Good luck finding a therapist, though. It’s so hard to find a good fit at that age.



Leave a Reply

