h1

Liking the Job

November 12, 2010

It’s not easy, trying to strike the confidentiality balance on the blog.

But I complained a good bit during the trial about the trial.  And about the hours, and about the demands it put on me, and how I missed my family.

And to counter that – I’d like to take a minute to say:  I am happy right now.

I have recently felt the difference, felt the change in seniority.  No longer a “junior” associate, instead flirting with “mid-level.”  I enjoy the increased responsibility.  Right now (and maybe only right now) the increased hours don’t make it unpalatable.

It also makes a real difference that my kids are teens at this point.  They have plans and they make them without me.  They are engaged in their own lives enough that it doesn’t really bother them if I have to sign on to my work account at 9:15 on a Friday night.  That they have enough after school activities – and then enough homework – that if I come home at 7:30 on a week day – no big deal.  (I prefer to come home at 5 p.m. on a weekday, though …)

For right now, things are okay.

I wonder how long it will last?

 

Leave a Reply

