h1

Memorial

January 12, 2011

I’m watching the Arizona Memorial Service right now.  I’ve been out of it just enough that I didn’t know the service was goign to take place until my mother IM’d me, to tell me how she was looking forward to watching Obama, and how she was “rooting for him,” and hoped he’d do a good job, and not “be a bully” like he “always is.”

So, head shaking, confusion permeating, I turned on the coverage.

I’ve been keeping up with much of the news about what happened this weekend, and have been moved by much of it.  I did not feel anger, so much.  More incredulity.  When John Stewart came out with his reaction, I found myself agreeing with him, almost 100%.

The only anger I felt?  That damned Westboro Baptist Church.

I almost understand a sole person suffering from mental illness more than I can understand the collective MEANness of many.  How can they do this?  What makes them think this is okay?

I have my own issues with baptist and other fundamentalist christian organizations.  But you know what?  I have NO understanding of these sentiments.  I never saw them.  I never saw this kind of raw hate and disregard of others’ struggles.  And that is saying a LOT.  I sat in chapel and church listening to Jerry Falwell at least twice a week for 3 years of my life.  And *still* cannot imagine a person – let alone a group of them – who can justify these actions.  Where does it come from?  How is it okay?

I am sad.

2 comments

  1. I haven’t even heard anything about what they have done in relation to this tragedy, but Westboro is among the most disgusting groups of human beings on the planet.


  2. There is so much about this that’s sad–but you’re right that Westboro is on a whole different level.



Leave a Reply

