h1

The Snow Day that Wasn’t.

January 13, 2011

I left work on the later side on Tuesday night, amidst all the blizzard warnings and forecasts for 18+ inches of snow here in New England, because I wanted to wrap things up as much as possible.  I had determined that I was NOT going to traipse through the active blizzard in order to get to the office.  I would “work from home,” but I wanted the air quotes.  i didn’t want to work.  I wanted – actually – to build a snow man.  I wanted to shovel.

So, when I got an email at 9:20 in the morning asking me to “focus” on a certain project during the day, I was less than thrilled.

I billed 10 hours.  I didn’t get outside until the sun had set.  I tried to shovel some, in the dark, with my husband glaring at me from the kitchen window because dinner was ready.  And I went for a walk.  But that was it.

No snow man.

While I was on my walk, I ran into a neighbor.  I told her that it was my first time outside, and that I decided being an adult was for the birds, that I wanted a snow day!  She poo poo’d the sentiment and said, “well, in our house, we put everything on hold and played in the snow all day.  I mean, really, what is *that* important?”

[does my bolding and italicizing show the tone I wanted to convey?  does my irritation show through?]

Too bad I didn’t run into her and her sentiments before I went to law school.

Ha!

Even before I went to law school, there were plenty of things that were *that* important; that required me to put my responsibilities before my fun.

My second burst of work happened between 9 p.m. and 11:30 p.m.  I fell asleep some time before 12:30.

This morning, I was lying in bed worrying about whether or not Lemon woke up without me knocking on her door, because it was 7:15.  She came into my room, alleviating my concerns, and said she wished she could still be in bed.  I said, “yeah, well, I worked until almost midnight.”  She said, “when I grow up, I want a job like yours.  One where I can choose when to stay in bed, and where I can decide to work later in the evening, and go in later in the morning.   I think I’ll do that all the time – before I have a family, so I won’t be rushing home all the time like you do to spend time with them.  I’ll just work late, and sleep late, and it will be perfect.”

Of course, lying in bed a little longer isn’t always an option – but she’s seen that, too.

Monday is a holiday; a 3 day weekend around the corner.  I anticipate having the weekend off, entirely.  Let’s see how that goes!

Leave a Reply

