h1

Harry Potter – A Week Late & Ill Advised

July 22, 2011

[I was going to write about the actual movie in this post.  But then I rambled about how I shouldn’t have gone to see the movie, and how I’m a bad adult and a bad parent and am ashamed of myself.  NEXT, I will talk about the movie.  And Snape.  With Spoilers out the wazoo.]

Mouse and I went to see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2 (or, as I like to call it “HP7b”), last night.  Before I discuss the movie, I’d like to talk about what an idiot I am.

I went to the beach yesterday, like I said.  I had a great time with a great friend.  I swam, I sunned, I ate, I burned.  And come 4 p.m., when we got home, I was exhausted.  Just absolutely tuckered.  I knew that Mouse and I had talked about going to the movie, but I believed at that moment that it was a Bad Idea.  Not only because of the exhaustion, but also because this is the day that WD comes home after 10 days up north doing writerly things, and the house was a freaking disaster.

Also, the child has a cough.  It started on Thursday, but I kind of didn’t see her on Thursday.  Or Friday.  She went to a friend’s house after her day camp on Thursday, and they drove out to the Berkshires ahead of me on Thursday night. When I came across her on Friday night, she was coughing up a lung.  “Why are you coughing?”  “Because I’m sick, duh.”  On Tuesday night, the cough kept her up until close to 1 a.m.  She woke up for camp the next day (yesterday, the day of the movie negotiations) feeling like complete shit.  Whining, complaining, coughing, pouting, almost crying.  I said, “Mouse, you must get to bed early tonight – and I will enforce it!  I mean by 9!” [god, i feel like such a horrible mother/adult for not having actually enforced it …]

Also, did I mention I was exhausted?

She came home, “let’s go see Harry Potter!”  I told her the movie time didn’t work, and would make dinner almost impossible; she had to go to bed early; she had flowers to water; we had a house to clean.  She said, “I’ll eat a good snack and eat a light dinner when we get home and then go STRAIGHT to bed; I’ll help you clean the house; I’ll water the flowers on the way home!” [Clearly, I wanted to see the movie, since I didn’t bother to piece all of this together to see that it would never, in a million years, without a time-turner, fit prior to 9 p.m.]

In the meantime, Lemon is texting me that she needs to bake cookies for a “Secret Santa” [Yes, she realizes it’s July: “duh, Mom, that’s kind of the point”] and needs chocolate chips and containers in which to pack the cookies.  It’s important, she tells me, that the containers be something she can decorate.

Mouse made me feel bad, saying we already put the movie off twice. She reminded me how much I wanted to see the movie.  Which was very, very true.  She swore up & down she’d help me clean.  She made cute faces.

I said yes.

Regret, it runs deep.

I took a nap – went to lie down at 4:30.  I told her to wake me up at 5, and then after waking me up and while I got ready to go, she’d have to go water the flowers.

I slept hard for that hour.  What’s that you say?  4:30 – 5 is not an hour, but rather a half-hour?  That would be right.  But she didn’t wake me up at 5.  She woke me up at 5:30.  She “lost track of time.” I’m guessing on the computer.

I guess this would have been the perfect opportunity for me to say “this can’t work.”  But instead, I thought, “Harry Potter!  Harry Potter!”  You know, like this:

 

God, I love that.

So, we went and got on the T.

I loved the movie.  Mouse loved checking to see if I was crying.  Then she loved flipping her head upside down to put her hair in a pony tail, missing very important facial expressions.

Grrr.

I guess there’s a reason why the child put the series down in the middle of the 7th book.  “It was so boorriiinnnggg, they were just wandering around in the woods and stuff for WEEKS!”

So, the movie [which will be the topic of another post] ended, and she had to pee, and I had to find containers and chocolate chips.

We went to Bed, Bath & Beyond, which is between the theater and the T stop.  She peed, and I found out that they did NOT have the containers that Lemon wanted.  So I bought other containers, knowing she’d be upset.  I was just starting to have thoughts like, “why is this MY job?  I’m not the one doing Secret Santa in July,” and “why is she telling me what she needs the night before?” and “shouldn’t she be using her allowance for these kinds of purchases?” creeping into my head.  But I went to Staples anyway, and bought a giant-ass set of Sharpies.  There were hundreds of colors in that package.  It was quite orgasmic.

Then we waited for at least 10,000 hours for the T to finally decide it was worthwhile to travel down the tracks and carry people from one place to another. The thoughts of irritation and regret were starting to take over.  Mouse was getting cuddly (on a very warm night, standing on a train platform), and I was getting decidedly UNcuddly.

The train finally comes, and we walk the several blocks to a large Walgreens to get chocolate chips.  (This is where the “why the fuck did I let WD take the car with him?” thoughts start creeping in.  So now I’m irritated with everybody.)  I know this walgreens carries sugar, and ice cream, and canned vegetables, and sour cream.  So chocolate chips seem likely.  If not, well, Stop & Shop is only several more blocks up the road (and in the opposite direction of our HOUSE).

Guess what Walgreens does not carry?  Chocolate chips.  They have honey, they have marshmallows, they have unrefrigerated chocolate chip cookie dough, they have flour.  They have VANILLA!!!  But no chocolate chips?

So I’m just about starting to lose it.  I’m texting Lemon, and she’s all “sorry you have to walk to Stop & Shop, mom.”  And I suggest that Mouse go home and shower while I walk to Stop & Shop.  But it’s after 9 at this point, and dark, and she doesn’t want to walk alone. I don’t blame her, and am not at all inclined to push her, but I don’t know what to do, and I think my head may pop off.  All I want is my car.  And I want it to be 5 p.m.  And I want Mouse in bed, and to stop coughing.  And I don’t want Lemon to have cooking-baking in front of her.

And none of us had any dinner, and there weren’t many choices in the house in that department and I was freaking out.

And then it was 9:30.

Mouse said, “Mommy, maybe she can use M&Ms instead of chocolate chips?”

I text Lemon.

“That would be great! Sure!”

The tension leaks out a little bit, and I thank Mouse for her creative problem-solving.  I’m feeling better.  Stop & Shop averted.  M&Ms bought. We walk home.

It’s late, so I can’t defrost and cook the ziti WD had left behind.  So I think I’ll make Trader Joe’s fish nuggets (they’re very good), and some perogi’s.  I turn on the oven, start to boil water, and SHIT!

Mouse hadn’t watered the flowers.  She’s being paid obnoxious amounts of money to keep our dear friend’s garden alive during her 2 week vacation.  And we’re in the midst of a heat wave:

Mouse hadn’t been to the garden the day before, and the next day was going to be just as hot.  She needed to water those flowers.

But she was starting to feel tired, her cough was acting up, and she was tired.  “Mommy, I can’t do it.  I’m so hungry, and I have to shower, and it’s dark! I can’t go there by myself in the dark!”

Tipping point reached.

I thereabouts start to yell.  I put the fish nuggets back in the freezer and SLAM the door shut.  Lemon looks at me with giant eyes as I’m saying “too bad! you can’t blow this off!”  I turn the oven off, I take the water off the burner, I put my flip flops on, and I slam out of the house with Mouse trailing behind, head down.

Then I feel bad.  It takes me a good chunk of time to get her to relax after the tension I infused into her.  I apologize for getting pissed.  I tell her that I made bad decisions, that we should have never gone.  “But you wanted to see the movie, too.”  We water teh flowers [it’s 3 blocks from our house].  We go home.

I made the fish nuggets while Mouse was in the shower.  Scrapped the perogis. Cleaned the kitchen. Lemon made cookies. I straightened the house.  Mouse went to bed.  I took very, very deep breaths.

And realized that I really needed my second adult.  I don’t like being a single parent.  Because while Wednesday night was chaos, Tuesday wasn’t tons better, and really, either was Monday.  Last week, my first without WD, went smooth.  Not too much chaos.  But this week?

Yuck.

Leave a Reply

