h1

New Theme for the Blog?

November 3, 2011

Maybe, pretty soon, this little blog doo-hickey thing will transform from being a blog of a “mom of teens working in a large law firm” to a “mom of teens receiving unemployment.”

Oof.  The job front continues to look bleak.  Our final year’s hours reports are out, and mine is pathetic.  The department is still slow, and they cannot hold onto all of us.  I can’t imagine that I’ll be kept around. Notwithstanding yesterday’s stellar trial performance [tongue-in-cheek, for those who do not know me.]

I shouldn’t say much more, I guess.  I could say more  but I’d have to worry about it coming back to bite me in the ass.  I will say I am at least relieved to know this is quantitative, and not at all qualitative.  Some of the reasons for my lack of hours/work are department-wide, some are not, but are not situations over which I did not have any control whatsoever.

Final decisions will likely be made in the next couple of weeks.

The job market in my field seems to be far from stagnant.  I think I’ll be able to find something new.  I will likely have to take a pay cut, though, and we live in an expensive town.

Funny that yesterday was such a good day, work-wise, and today is so very low.

 

One comment

  1. Ouch. I’ll be hoping you are not among those cut!



Leave a Reply

