h1

As Expected

November 16, 2011

So, that just happened.

They were very nice, and did not pin it on the substance of my work, or me as a lawyer.   Severance is enough that I think things should be fine.

I have my other irons in the fire, and will be working to see what happens.  I am hopeful that I can take the severance period (wherein I’m still employed, officially) to organize some closets.  But not if it means letting opportunities go by.

I guess I’ll have to figure out how to best blog about things like this.

13 comments

  1. I am so sorry.


  2. Never fun. But hopefully the next chapter will be a hell of a lot better


  3. Aw, that stinks. If your insurance is tied to your work (as opposed to your spouse’s), refill all your meds and schedule appointments for EVERYTHING. I think I had everything except my prostate checked those last couple of months, ha.


    • Very good advice. Thanks! The girls need physicals, and I need some tune-ups, too.


  4. I’m sorry it happened, but at least you weren’t blind-sided. Hopefully, you’ll line up something new quickly.


  5. I’m so very sorry.


  6. We identify so much with our jobs that when things like this happen we have to go through a period of realigning our sense of selves. (I know that sounds corny but it’s true!). You’ll feel lost for a while, but everything happens for a reason and eventually the reason why this happened will become clear.


  7. I’m very sorry to hear this, and I don’t even know you!

    I’d happily switch places with you. I’ve worked for the same company now for over 10 years, the longest I’ve ever spent with one company. I could definitely do with a forced change. When I was younger, I’d take 1-3 months between jobs to travel and do other things…I miss those breaks very much. Alas, the children insist on being fed and clothed and so on.

    Responsibilities are fun most of the time. But not always. With the time you’ve got, do something different as well as something responsible. Write a book. See a far-flung friend. Volunteer.

    Again, sorry to hear this.


  8. So sorry to hear that, but like Namby Pamby, I hope this leads to something better for you.


  9. I’m so sorry this happened to you. I’ve just had a terrible review recently, and I’m on a 3 month probation, which is most certainly going to end in termination. Unfortunately, I have no idea where I should head next. A drink? My treat.


    • Sorry to hear you’re struggling, too. Drinks would be very nice! I will email you.


  10. […] to end this prolonged hiatus.  Not 100% sure why the silence happened.  Despite the recent job news, I haven’t really been wallowing or otherwise in a funk.  But I did throw myself into a few […]


  11. […] in December, in the aftermath of the lay off news, I was seriously wrestling with whether or not to cancel a planned surprise birthday trip for […]



Leave a Reply

