h1

Job Search Diaries

January 18, 2012

January has already been a huge roller coaster on the job-search front.  With the return to school for the girls and “work” for me (in quotes because I’m not really working – but I am showing up at the office to clean out my drawers and use the printer for resumes), I knew the pressure was on to find a freakin’ job.

Prior to January 1, I had many (good) reasons to put the search off.

  1. My severance package creates a situation where it behooves me, financially, to stay at my current firm for the entire “transition period” (i.e., 3 months) – searching in November to start a job in March is a little awkward, at best.
  2. I produced Mouse’s school play, and it was a great way to throw myself into a productive endeavor and not feel like shit about myself for getting laid off.
  3. The holidays.  Not only did they give me something positive to focus on, but they tend to get in the way of most hiring cycles.

Despite these reasons, I did keep checking job postings, and threw my resume at a few opportunities (a “few” means 5 or  6) throughout December.  But never heard a peep.

But come January 1, I had nothing.  No play. No holidays.  Nothing to talk me into putting this off.

I (potentially naively) expected to wake up on January 3, the first true “business day” of the year, and see the world smattered with job opportunities. And to be dripping with responses from the December submissions.

Instead, I woke up on January 3 and saw – nothing.

That whole week, postings were light and my phone was silent.  I was kinda bummed.  And I started to feel some actual anxiety about whether I can pull this off – whether I can manage to get a new position before this one ends.  A gap in employment will not be easy for us.  Not at all.

Then the following week, postings picked way up.  I reached out to some people I know and had some nibbles.  I sent resumes to various places. I felt good! about things!

But some of my networking emails went unanswered (the minority of them, but still).  The resumes I sent received no response. By the end of the week, I felt – bleh.

But then I had a meeting with my career-dude (firm-provided career consultant), and he made me feel better, because he’s smooth like that.  Then I made some phone calls inside the firm to people I work with and sent an email to a friend outside the firm (a fellow parent who is also a lawyer who graduated from my law school, but a decade before me), and the responses I got were overwhelming.  Not just “oh, why don’t you call so-and-so?”  But rather “I am going to call so-and-so for you!  They are looking for people, and you are perfect!”  And then – they did call their so-and-sos.

I was kind of blown away by their generosity and proactive response.  My career dude has been pushing me all along to be up front with people in my community and at my firm about my situation, for this very reason.  “People want to help you!” he said.  But I was still shy.  I forced myself, though, after our last meeting to reach out a bit more.

I stayed optimistic all weekend.  Which is nice for a long weekend.  And then the last of my networking people who hadn’t responded DID respond (with apologies for the delay).  And yesterday, the postings were again voluminous, and I sent my resumes to the s0-and-sos.  Within 2 hours of sending my resume to one of the so-and-sos, I got a response setting up a meeting.  Then I sent out 4 more resumes to the day’s postings.  And I woke up this a.m. with another interview request.

So.  Hooray!  Two interviews!  Of course, they may just be the warm-ups.  I haven’t interviewed since 2006.  5 1/2 years ago.

But I think I can do it . . . .

 

5 comments

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you have some interviews lined up. I feel confident that you’ll have a new job by the spring.

    Thanks for keeping us posted. I’m looking forward to hearing more updates.


    • Thanks, Jen! It’s been an active week. I just found out today about 2 more interested firms, likely will have interviews scheduled tomorrow!


  2. That’s great news! A rollercoaster, but a good one, for sure!


  3. […] a minute … Mom; lawyer; wife. « Job Search Diaries Job Search Diaries, II January 25, […]


  4. […] third installment in my chronicling of looking for a new job.  Here is the first, and the […]



Leave a Reply

