h1

Aww, I missed you, too!

March 22, 2012

My new job has a social media policy.  Written out.  It says that if we blog about legal things, we need to remember that we represent the firm.  Same for Linked In.  Facebook, I’m told, “we don’t care, that’s yours.”  The policy – the written one – includes the following:  “You agree not to use the firm [equipment? connections? computers?  I don’t know, I didn’t memorize it] to post to your personal blogs.”

I liked that. They sort of gave me permission, right there, to have a personal blog!  So, hooray!  I respect that. And I respect their request to stay off it during work. 

Work.  

So, I love my new job.  I’m in a completely different world.  A world of lawyering. I used to be in a world of “junior associate”-ing.  But now, I’m lawyering. 

Since I started 3 weeks ago.  In that time, I’ve drafted a 30 page trademark/copyright complaint and the accompanying brief in support of a preliminary injunction, I’ve drafted a brief in support of motion to dismiss, and I’ve drafted a motion that’s been before the court (it won, but honestly – the motion was a formality, so it’s not really a brag).  

The most interesting thing, to me, is that I’ve not only drafted these things.  I’ve crafted them.  I’ve decided what the arguments would be, after getting my bearings in these completely new areas of law.  

It’s just so different.  I used to be handed outlines or drafts and told to fill in the blanks.  Or given a section to write.  Then everything would be completely rewritten, and I wouldn’t find a word of what I had initially put on the page remaining in what was filed.  

I used to be one of 5 or 6 or 8 on a team, and my name never came close to being on the signature line.  Now, it’s me.    I’m the signatory.  I’m the one collaborating with co-defendants, keeping clients apprised.

I used to think that the only way I’d get to argue a motion that I’d collaborated on was if at least 3 people senior to me got struck with the measles. Now I’m first in line.  First in line!  For an argument in Federal Court!

This would be happiness.  I am appreciative.  I am loving that my 9-12 hour days are feeling quick & easy.  Loving a feeling of ownership over my work.  Loving this change.

_______________

In other news:

  • I’m still running, and building my stamina.  Not really losing weight, but I think I know what I need to do (add strength training).  
  • David hasn’t found a job yet. Having been out of the workforce for a few years hasn’t helped. We’re hoping something will come through soon.  We have savings, but want to keep it that way.
  • I rented the house in the Outer Banks again.  I’m fucking going. Late June this year.  I’ve done some research; I’ve analyzed hurricane patterns.  There has never been a hurricane in the Outer Banks in June.
  • Then again, it’s never been ninety fucking degrees in Boston in March before, either.
  • Mouse gets her braces off next week.  The end of an era.  I can’t wait. (Also, if anyone remembers, everything worked out with Big Firm’s health savings/flex/whatever account. The braces are PAID FOR.)
  • Lemon is at the Hunger Games midnight showing tonight.
  • Both of them are doing great. I love them. Happy to say that it’s clear that they love me, too. 

It was fun catching up.  Hope we can get together again soon!

 

😉  

 

 

One comment

  1. I am SO GLAD that the new job is going so well and that you are so happy.

    So, you’re going to try OBX again? Good. I hope you’ll swing through my town on your way south. (Sounding hopeful…)



Leave a Reply

