h1

Fourteen

May 20, 2012

Mouse’s birthday is this Thursday. She will be 14.

And it just happens to be that time of year where everything is happening – meetings, banquets, annual events, etc.

Mouse has her varsity banquet that night; I have a work function.  I don’t have to go, but it’s kind of something I really want to go to, and was bummed that I’d have to miss.  David and I started to talk it through, and he suggested I take Mouse to breakfast that day, instead of dinner.  My event is from 6-8, so I could be home for cake.

I felt funny about it, though, and hadn’t made up my mind.  He said, “It would be fun, you could take her to breakfast, Lemon can take her to lunch, and I will take her to dinner!”  I thought it felt kinda crappy.  But then Lemon came home with her varsity banquet plan, and I realized that no matter what, we weren’t going to be able to have our usual “Actual Birthday” evening.*  Not this time.  So we told Lemon what we’d been thinking about – her taking Mouse out to lunch – and she thought it was a great idea.  We’d let them both leave school early and walk up to Mouse’s favorite Mexican restaurant for her favorite burritos in the world.

I still felt funny about going to an event on her birthday, but they all convinced me that our alternate plan is really fun, and as long as we all have dessert together, there is no problem.

So that’s what we’re doing . . .

And now we just added a little additional plan:  Mouse is going to meet me at work on Wednesday, and we are going to go together to the Claire’s around the corner to get her a cartilage piercing.  Just like her sister did in 8th grade, and as her birthday gift.  Then we will go to DSW and look for graduation shoes.

And then Mouse told me last night that a friend of hers is jealous.  She said, “Not fair, you’re having such a special birthday, and my family isn’t doing ANYTHING for mine!”  (They are a week apart.)  So I guess I should get over my guilt for going to this event, right?

 

*  Where the birthday person gets to choose the dinner – which even though restaurants are on the table, my kids always choose something for David to cook.  I always choose to go out. Then we have dessert and presents.

One comment

  1. I think that sounds like a fabulous plan!



Leave a Reply

