h1

Day 4: More Sun & Swimming

June 27, 2012

Today’s real photos will come along after I get the underwater camera’s film developed.  For now, here’s a taste:

Ocean.

The end of a good, good, day.

Mouse and David – Happy people.

With a sourpuss like this, you wonder where she gets her nickname?

He’s carrying both umbrellas, because my back is f’ing killing me. 

Moving on ….

Mouse got a new hat today; after a good bit of drama involving sunscreen in the eyeballs.*  Ouch.

Leaving the beach at 6:15 p.m.  We love our beach.

Do we have to go home in 2 days?  Really?

So, the other day, we SUCKED at sunscreen.  We tried to apply it to one another, and we tried to be sure to reapply as necessary.  But at the end of the day, we were all in pain.  Mouse’s pain was primarily on her face; Lemon’s on her shoulders, mine in a weird spot on my leg, plus odd patches on my chest.  David had it on his back and arms, in stripes (my fault?).

We took yesterday off from the beach, partly because it was the coolest day of the week (and therefore the most comfortable to be wandering around), and partly so we could let our sunburns heal.

Today, we were more determined.  We coated & coated.  We allowed for extra dry time before going in the water.  We got out of the water to the shade, and went to reapply before getting back in the water when it was time.  Mouse closed her eyes, and I put the sunscreen on.  All seemed fine, but then – it got in her eyes. She cried and yelled.  I grabbed my water bottle and dumped the contents on her eyes.  She cried and yelled more, and said, “oh my god, i can’t seeeeeee!”  We all kind of freaked (on the inside).  More water, towel, water.  She could see, but still hurt.  Now it was her eyelids, her face.  So she and I head back to the house, and I’m feeling terrible, because I’m the one who put the sunscreen on her. She takes a shower, and still cries that it hurts.  I feel worse.  Then she says, “well, I think it might be my sunburn?”  and a switch flips in her head, and …. no more pain.  She gets dressed, we go to the store to get special FACE sunscreen.  We go back home, put it on a tiny spot to make sure it doesn’t sting – it’s fine.  We put it on our faces, and we had back to the amazing, fantastic, uncrowded, beautiful, 78 degree beach.

God, we love this vacation.

Stay tuned – tomorrow, we explore to the north.

xo

Leave a Reply

